Things My Children Teach Me: Prevarication and Self-Preservation

Me, Myself, MineSo the other day I had one of those “Mom moments” where I just had to laugh, even though it was entirely inappropriate in the situation. I was asking my six year old and my two year old (keep those facts in mind – these perpetrators are only six and two years old) which one had removed blankets from storage and scattered them around the room. The six year old hopped from one foot to the other and whined, “I don’t know!” The two year old, lined up next to his sister for this questioning, twisted his mouth, looked out the corner of one eye at his sister and answered, “I don’t know.” I couldn’t help it! I laid my head down in my lap and laughed silently, hoping they would think I was sobbing. At the tender age of six and two they have already begun to conspire against me!

Such is the nature of our human selves. From a very young age we begin to prevaricate and try to turn events toward our own self interest. Whether that means conspiring with a sibling to try to confuse mom as a child or lying to the bank to try to get an overdraft fee removed as an adult, it all boils down to the sins of lying and self-absorption.

These thoughts led me to this passage this morning: Psalm 119:35-57.

Direct me in the path of your commands,
for there I find delight.
Turn my heart toward your statutes
and not toward selfish gain.
Turn my eyes away from worthless things;
preserve my life according to your word.

This is my prayer for my children, for my husband and for myself. That we will all be turning more and more toward God and His direction and more and more away from what we want and think we should have.

Leave a comment

Filed under Being a Woman, Homeschool

Leave a Reply

